losing someone

A good friend of mine lost his dog of many years to some unknown illness. The event was quick and luckily his friend didn’t suffer long.
People forget Pets are not property, they are family. They love unconditionally us for who we are, our strengths and weaknesses.
They are our quiet confidants. They know our all our secrets. They are with us when we succeed, and pick us up when we fail. In return, all they want is to be with us. To be part of our lives.
They greet us every day. and tuck us in when we sleep. When we wake, they are there demanding to be fed and share some cereal. And greet us every night when we come home. They instinctively know when we arrive so that their faces are the ones we see in the window as we pull in, or open the door.
My heart breaks when I read about animal abuse cases, because I know no matter how much abuse they take, some pets continue to love.
I see it in folks as well. People who should know better then continue to invest time and effort others, continue to do so.
I feel bad for my friend. I think his dog has helped him deal with past challenges. Now, that his friend has passed, He gets to carry on by himself.
Hes a good guy. He didn’t deserve this.
I hope he allows himself to grieve and find a new pet to share his house with.
For Me, Death is something I have never really accepted.
I first saw Death when my first dog Rocky a black lab died when I was 13.
I dont recall it, but my dad mentioned I was in deep depression. I hadnt eaten anything for a week or two.
Rocky was beautiful. Stocky, with Huge paws, he looked like a huge block of coal. Loyal, inquisitive. friendly, and outspoken. He was always at my side from sun up till sundown, till he passed away after a car hit him when he was 6months old.
I went through a slew of pets after him, and after the last pet Kenny passed. I wanted no more of pets.
Rachel my Ex gave me Cat to keep me company as we sorted out our differences. The goal was for me to keep cat til we reconciled and reunited after some time to save us and our relationship.
Cat and I have been together since she left us both.
We survived, endured and succeeded without Rachel.
In spite of everything, Cat and I have done just fine. We even brought in Nissa to join our adventures.
I worry that I can’t cope when Cat goes. Together, We survived doubt, indecision, poor choices and career restarts. What happens when its just me and nissa.?

D.

losing someone

Leave a Reply

